Rho Alpha Kappa Alumni Association

Toronto, Canada

Every year the RTA School of Media honours its best at an annual Awards Ceremony at Toronto Metrpolitan University. The Rho Alpha Kappa Alumni Association Award is given to a second or third year student who has achieved academic proficiency and demonstrated financial need, as well as made a significant contribution to RTA's sense of community at TMU.

The Rho Alpha Kappa Alumni Association Award is in its 24th year and is made possible by an endowed fund established by the association and administered by Toronto Metropolitan University.  Since 2010 the fund has generated enough money to provide mutiple awards each year.

Rho Award Recipients

2022  Nicholas McAllister  Jason Soung

2021  Mackenzie Kruger

2020  Nicolina Moscati, Jacob Krywetzky

2019  Nada Mohamed,  Clare Feng

2018   Jake Benaim,  Julia Le Clair

2017  Sean Addis,  Jake Benaim

2016  Tyler Keating, Mikael Melo

2015     Josepohine Tse, Mikael Melo

2014     Dorris Huang, Bridgit O'Rourke

2013     Char Loro, Bailey Parnell

2012     Aven Hoffarth, Emma Petrakis

2011     Will Noach, Manija Armen, Alex Shutsa

2010     Shannon Fernandez, Sinead Willis

2009     Anis Haydari

2008     Jaclyn Pal

2007     Jordan Fontaine

2006     Margarita Spevak

2005     Leanna Di Benedetto

2004     Alison Miller

2003     Dayna Salem

2002     Carrie-Ann Bissonnette

2001     Lisa Fitzpatrick

2000     Graham Lindsey

1999     Regina Lihou


Brian Bobbie and Joe Lewis

with recipient Jake Benaim,

and RTA Chair Kathleen Perrie Adams

Rho Alpha Kappa Alumni Association Award

Contact Rho by email

Years of golf tournaments, curling bonspiels, poker games and sundry fund-raising events made it possible for the alumni of Rho Alpha Kappa to establish an undergraduate endowment fund at Ryerson University.

After several years of awarding a cash bursary to a Radio & Television Arts student, in 2004 the association launched the campaign for the endowment fund.

Today the endowed fund approaches $135,000. That means annual student awards will be presented in perpetuity.

Rho Award fund

grows each year

1999: The first Rho Award

recipient: Regina Lihou

2001 Recipient Lisa Fitzpatrick (with Tom Brennand

Larry Horne, Joe Lewis, Les Smith, Gord Corlett)


Brian Bobbie with recipients

Nada Mohamed and Clare Feng,

with RTA Chair Kathleen Perrie Adams